Where is The Queen Head of State?

‘The sun never sets on the British Empire’ was a famous quote that once summarised the might of the United Kingdom. Quite literally, such was the power of the nation, that somewhere, in amongst its territories, never would the juggernaut stop marching on. However, considerable time has passed since those days, and now, Great Britain doesn’t hold so much prestige. That being said, Queen Elizabeth II, current Queen of Great Britain, is still head of state in a number of countries. Ever wondered who still swears allegiance to the Queen? Wonder no more, read on!


Great Britain is home to a number of landmarks – such as the London Eye, Big Ben, and as seen here… Stonehenge.


First, a brief history. During a period that spanned a few hundred years, Great Britain took control of a number of countries. They became colonies of the British Empire – once the most powerful empire in the world. Nothing lasts forever though, and mainly during the 1900s, various countries gained independence from the United Kingdom. E.g. Trinidad and Tobago used to have the Queen as head of state, prior to independence in the 1960s. Some however, still remain part of the commonwealth, with many nations still having Queen Elizabeth II as their head of state. So next, the sixteen countries that comprise this list:


The Americas

Most famously, Canada swear allegiance to the Queen. Smaller nations include Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Grenada and Jamaica. That’s right – the nation which produced Usain Bolt have the Queen as head of state! Smaller nations from the Americas that make this list include Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines. As you see, with ten countries coming from the Americas, it is the most prevalent area.






Five countries from the continent of Australasia have the Queen as their Head of State. Australia is among these. The powerful nation, a frequent tourist hotspot, is joined by four others. New Zealand is another large country that is a part of the list. Smaller island nations include Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.



This of course just leaves one nation – most obviously, the United Kingdom. Hopefully this will carry on for some time!




So there we have it, the list of countries that swear allegiance to the Queen. Several African nations once would’ve graced this list, however times have changed. It should be noted the Royal Family have achieved a lot, and the stability of the United Kingdom during the last few hundred years can be attributed strongly to the democracy seen in Britain, led by the Royal Family. Queen Elizabeth II will hopefully continue to rule for many years to come.





Remember to Like us on Facebook and Follow us on Twitter for more!
The image used in the article comes courtesy of ‘The Court Jeweller’.


One thought on “Where is The Queen Head of State?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.