FIFA Awards Night: The Results

The annual FIFA Awards night took place yesterday, where another successful year in football was celebrated. Among the awards handed out were Player of the Year, Manager of the Year and Team of the Season. There was considerable intrigue heading into the event as to who would win each award. Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi were favourites for the main award – FIFA’s Best Men’s player. Read on to see all of the results from the ceremony.


This was football’s most prestigious award’s night


As mentioned in the introduction, the most prestigious award presented was the Best FIFA Men’s Player. The award was won by Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid, who saw off competition from Barcelona’s Lionel Messi to win. Ronaldo received 43% of the total votes, before being presented the award by Diego Maradona and Brazilian legend Ronaldo. Votes from national team Captains, national team Managers, journalists and a public ballot all contributed to the final standings. Ronaldo was a clear winner in the end. Neither Ronaldo nor Messi voted for one another in their votes!


Read Next: Girl Uses Tinder in Clever (But Dishonest) Way… And Makes Money

Read Then: Ex-Man Utd Chairman Reveals His Top Five Signings

Read Later: FIFA 18 Top 100 Players Revealed


The equivalent award for Managers was the Best FIFA Men’s Coach. This award was won by Zinedine Zidane of Real Madrid. Zidane helped lead Madrid to another Champions League title, as well as helping Madrid claim the La Liga title. Completing the podium for this award were Chelsea’s Antonio Conte and Juventus’ Max Allegri. Zidane secured 46% of the vote, making him a clear winner. Conte helped Chelsea to a Premier League title, while Allegri and Juventus won yet another Serie A title.


The FIFA Puskas award – the award presented for the best goal of the year – went to Olivier Giroud of Arsenal. Giroud’s scorching scorpion-kick goal against Crystal Palace helped him to victory. The goal took place in the Premier League back in January. Giroud beat off competition from others, including Deyna Castellanos of Venezuela and South African goalkeeper Oscarine Masuluke.


Finally, the 2016/17 FIFPro World XI was announced – essentially the team of the year. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus) was selected as the goalkeeper. The back four were Dani Alvez (Juventus/PSG), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid) and Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus/Milan). A midfield trio of Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Luca Modric (Real Madrid) and Andres Iniesta (Barcelona) were selected. Finally, the front three consisted of Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona) and Neymar (Barcelona/PSG).


So another year is complete, with this night celebrating all of the achievements. It will be interesting to see this time next year how much the game has changed – will Cristiano Ronaldo still be the best player in the world? And how many of the FIFPro XI players will remain the same? We will have to find out next year. Keep an eye on our ‘Sport’ section for more stories like this.




Remember to like UniEel Sport on Facebook for more!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.